Mrs. Beachley’s Mulled Wine

MrsBeachleyLogo

If you are anything like me, you enjoy a little alcoholic refreshment during the holiday season (heck, I enjoy it on days that end with “y”!).

 

Well Victorian and Edwardian lovers, have I discovered a wine for you. Mrs. Beachley’s Mulled Wine. I picked it up a couple of weeks ago as a hostess gift for a party earlier this month and I purchased a spare for myself. What a beautiful sweet wine. Now, it calls for heating up but I had it at room temperature and it was still lovely. The orange essence is pronounced and the spices are wonderful. It’s sweet so probably best for dessert or an after dinner drink. But I don’t pretend to be a wine expert so try it for yourself and tell me what you think.

What I find particularly interesting is that the receipt comes from Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management. So it is a recreation of a Victorian classic. Its ingredients remind me of what Scrooge calls “Bishop’s Bowl” in Dickens’ A Christmas Carol.

In fact, tell the makers what you think! Their email is on their homepage at the following link: http://mrsbeachleys.com/

Now, rest assured, I have nothing to do with the making or selling of this wine. I am telling you about it at this page because of the nature of Victorians and Edwardians. I like to share wonderful little discoveries and I encourage you to try it (if you can find it, my liquor store ran out!) this month.

 

Leave a Reply

